Monday, October 31, 2005

Tucker Carlson is a Grade A Dork

So I watched "Real Time with Bill Maher" and one of the guests was Tucker Carlson. I remember when Jon Stewart bitch slapped him on his old show "Crossfire" (" . . You're . . . . Hurting . . . America . . . "), but I had never really watched the show so I just figured he was sort of a hack. Well, I really underestimated him, and he careens into utter asshole territory without raising a sweat.

Carlson starts out with a look that only he can pull off - - - no one else would want to! I mean seriously; bow ties? And the haircut from a sort of 70s preppie look - - - ouch! But then he opens his mouth and it all meshes perfectly into one huge mass of dorkiness.

He and Spike Lee were on together, and they got into a shouting match over Katrina (or should I say Spike was shouting. Tucker sort of does this loud whiny thing.) Unfortunately, Spike didn't represent himself very well, seeming to be stoned or on some sort of tranquilizers. They got into it over whether there was a conspiracy on the part of the government to blow up the levees to get rid of the black neighborhoods, of all things.

(By the way, the whole concept of a so-called conspiracy to blow up the levees seems like a needless distraction from the truly dastardly neglect and sheer incompetence the government did display before during and after the hurricane in New Orleans. Arguing over whether the levees were blown up intentionally is a bit ridiculous when it is so clear that the powers that be just didn't give a shit about people dying. At least about poor black people dying.)

Letting jerks like Carlson send the debate over such real issues into the Twilight Zone by saying if you believe there was a problem with Katrina you're a conspiracy nut is not a real good idea. And he will obviously take the conversation there if given the chance. Spike Lee makes great movies, but he really bit the hook on this one.

No, George Bush and his cronies didn't blow up the levees or cause the hurricane, but they LET PEOPLE DIE and are now taking advantage of the situation to make money for their friends and leave hundreds of thousands of Americans out in the cold. And that is something worth getting mad about.

And so is Tucker Carlson, the dipshit!

No comments: